Slovenia the IRIS awards 2018

Slovenian Society of Cinematographers (ZFS) is committed to the progress and development of professional cinematography, it advocates respect of moral and ethical principles of the profession and stands for continuous development and quality of Slovenian cinema.
For the fourth time Slovenian Society of Cinematographers (ZFS) has awarded award - IRIS in the filed of cinematography for the works finished by the end of 2018. Awards were presented in five categories: Feature film, short film, documentary film, student film and TV series. In all five categories 40 films were submitted. Candidates who submitted their works for IRIS award had to be Slovenian citizens or of Slovenian nationality, and not necessarily members of ZFS.


1 Awarded cinematographers
 Awarded cinematographers wit Jure Černec, ZFS president and
Simon Tanšek. ZFS secretary
2 Karpo Godina and Jure Černec ZFS presedent
 Karpo Godina, ZFS and Jure Černec, ZFS president
3 Mitja Ličen
Mitja Ličen, ZFS


In addition to the five categories members of ZFS have decided to award cinematographer and director Karpo Godina, ZFS for his lifetime achievement.

Winners of IRIS 2018 awards are:

feature film:
MITJA LIČEN (ZFS) for the film “ZGODOVINA LJUBEZNI” (History of Love)

short film:
MARKO BRDAR (ZFS) for the film “POSLEDNJI DAN RUDOLFA NIETSCHEJA” (The Final Day of Rudolf Nietsche)

documentary film:
DARKO HERIČ (ZFS) for the film “KOLIKO SE LJUBIŠ?” (How Much Do You Love Yourself?)

student film (live action or documentary):
DEJAN ULAGA for the film “NEŽKA” (Nežka)

TV series

Lifetime achievement award:
cinematographer and director KARPO GODINA (ZFS)

4 Marko Brdar
 Marko Brdar, ZFS
5 Darko Herič
 Darko Herič, ZFS
6 Lev Predan Kowarski 
Lev Predan Kowarski, ZFS
7 Slovenian Cinematheque
Slovenian Cinematheque Photos by Kristina Bursać.

Media Partners