aip Awards

The Portuguese Society of Cinematographers aip driven by the IMAGO INTERNATIONAL awards has held for the first time in its history a similar event. The main reason of course is the celebration of cinematography. These awards were a long-time dream since last presidency by Luís Branquinho but for distinct reasons it was not possible to implement. But finally, the aip awards took place with the support of many sponsors.

Casa do Alentejo the gorgeous place where the awards took place

The event took place in the beautiful room of Casa do Alentejo situated right in the centre of Lisbon. The evening started with a Porto wine reception followed by a dinner and ended with the ceremony hosted by the aip president Tony Costa who was very proud to hand over 11 prizes. One of the award surprises was addressed to general secretary Louis Philippe Capelle SBC who got a commemorative plaque with the special thanks from the Portuguese cinematographers his long tome dedication to IMAGO. The other surprise was given to Inês Carvalho aip by receiving the aip award given by the president on board. Tony Costa explained that aip couldn’t thank so much Inês for her dedication to the society but as well for being the first woman to shoot a long feature film. Inês Carvalho was years ago a member of the IMAGO Master Class Committee.

 Tony Costa giving the surprise award to Louis Philippe Capelle SBC IMAGO

The prize named after Fernando Costa (CINEMATE founder) who has died one year ago marked a high moment of the night. The receiver of the prize which will be attributed every year to a singular person who contributed to the Portuguese industry and not necessary a professional of the camera department, was given to first assistant director João Pedro Ruivo who is in the job for 40 years.
The Life Time Achievement Award was given to José Luís Carvalhosa who unfortunately couldn’t be present at the ceremony. He was hospitalized two days before the event and the well known Portuguese director José Silva Melo has the honour to receive the distinguished prize from the Johan Meunier representing ARRI the sponsor of the award.

The rest of the awards followed in several categories.

Feature Film

«S. Jorge» - Cinematographer Carlos Lopes aip


«Treblinka» - Cinematographer João Ribeiro aip

«O olho Zoomórfico» - Cinematographer Lisa Persson

TV series
«Crime Time» - Cinematographer André Szankowski aip

«SB 90 anos (não é o Super Bock -90 Versões a fazer amigos) - Cinematographer Carlos Lopes aip

Music Video
«Run For Cover»- cinematographer William Sossai

Short Films
«Antes Que A Noite Venha» - Cinematographer José Oliveira

aip1 aip2
Jorge Silva Melo receiving the award from Johan Meunier ARRI João Pedro Ruivo proud receiver of the Fernando Costa award given by Fernando's daughters
aip7 aip6
 Isabel Baselga from Catts giving the award to Lisa Persson for best Videoart work  Inês Carvalho aip receiving the aip award 
aip9  aip16


Media Partners