Awards to be held in Helsinki on 28 October 2017, proudly supported by ARRI

The nominees for the first IMAGO International Awards for Cinematography have now been announced. The judging panel of 25 highly acclaimed and experienced cinematographers began the selection process in early August and considered 100 feature films, TV dramas and documentary films submitted by 49 different IMAGO member societies.

The nominees are as follows:
Feature Film
1. La la Land (Linus Sandgren, FSF, Sweden)
2. Maudie (Guy Godfree, CSC, Canada)
3. Nocturnal Animals (Seamus McGarvey, BSC, United Kingdom)

TV drama 
1. Gomorra (Paolo Carnera, AIC, Italy)
2. Game of Thrones – The Winds of Winter (Fabian Wagner, BSC, United Kingdom)
3. Midnattssol/Midnight sun (Erik Sohlström, FSF, Sweden)

1. Paolo Ventura vanishing man (Erik van Empel, NSC, Holland)
2. SARAJ'VO (Mustafa Mustafić, Almir Đikoli, Faris Dobrača, ASBH, Bosnia and Herzegovina)
3. Icon “Ikona” (Łukasz Żal, PSC, Poland)

IMAGO Awards Committee co-chair Tony Costa said, “The response from our IMAGO member societies across all categories was overwhelming. The juries, all members of IMAGO, worked with great enthusiasm evaluating the films showing the fantastic artistry demonstrated by the cinematographers who made them. The Awards committee and the IMAGO board are very proud to have begun this endeavour.”

IMAGO President Paul René Roestad added, “The IMAGO International Awards for Cinematography is an important step for IMAGO in both promoting the importance of cinematography and also bringing international cinematographers together to celebrate the important art of cinematography. There will be no films without cinematography and by promoting and focusing on the best visual storytelling in international films and being inspired by them, we are ultimately also bringing also raising the quality of international cinematography. Reaching a conclusion is never easy for a jury, especially with the high quality cinematography demonstrated in all of the awards entries.”
The jury for the Feature Film award included Esa Vourinen FSC, Sunny Joseph ISC, Alex Linden FSF, Christian Berger AAC, Bogdan Verzhbitsky UGС, Nigel Walters BSC, George Willis CSC, John Seale ACS ASC, Richard van Oosterhout NSC, Tomoaki Iwakura JSC and Anna Myking FNF.
The jury for the TV Drama award included Astrid Heubrandtner AAC, Andres Torres AEC, Predrag Bambic SAS, Richard Bluck NZCS, Elen Lotman ESC and Jan Weincke DFF.
The jury for the Documentary award included Pirjo Honkasalo FSC, Robert Berghoff BVK, Peter Zeitlinger BVK ASC, Andreas Fischer-Hansen DFF, Pieter De Vries ACS and Paul Rene Roestad FNF.

Awards will be presented in the following categories:

The IMAGO International Award for Best Cinematography in Feature film Award sponsor: Panasonic

The IMAGO International Award for Brest Cinematography in Television Drama Award sponsors: Drylab and Zeiss

The IMAGO International Award for Best Cinematography in Documentary films Award sponsor: Canon

The IMAGO International Award for Lifetime Achievement in Cinematography Award sponsor: ARRI

The IMAGO International Award for Extraordinary Contribution to the Art of Cinematography Award sponsor: CW Sonderoptics

The IMAGO International Award for Extraordinary Technical Achievement 1 Award sponsor: TVTools Finland

The IMAGO International Award for Extraordinary Technical Achievement 2 Award sponsors: Angel Films and Dagsljus

The ARRI - IMAGO International Award for Emerging Talent in Cinematography Award sponsors: ARRI

The IMAGO International Awards for Cinematography will be held on Saturday 28 October 2017 at Hanasaari – The Swedish-Finnish Cultural Centre in Helsinki, Finland.

Media Partners